SAS Banner
SAS Mobile Banner

Faculty

Graduate Faculty

D. Asher Ghertner
Associate Professor
(Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley)
Office: Lucy Stone Hall Room B-238
Phone: (732) 445-4128
Email: mailto:a.ghertner@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: the politics of displacement, rule & resistance, urban geography, development, aesthetic politics, ethnography, India
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vita

Read more ...

Heidi Hausermann
(Ph.D. University of Arizona)
Phone: (848) 932-9146
Email: mailto:heidi.hausermann@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, environmental governance, livelihoods, health, the political economy of land-use/cover change
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

David Hughes
(Ph.D., Berkeley)
Phone: (848) 932-9153 x361
Email: mailto:dhughes@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political, ecology, conservation, colonialism, Southern Africa, race and nature, white identity
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

Robert Lake
(Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Phone: (848) 932-3133 x521
Email: mailto:rlake@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: community development, environmental politics, planning theory, locational conflict, urban and political geography
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

Richard G. Jr. Lathrop
(Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Phone: (848) 932-1580
Email: mailto:lathrop@crssa.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Monitoring and modeling terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, landscape dynamics using remote sensing, geographic information systems.
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

Robin Leichenko
Professor and Department Chair
(Ph.D., Penn State)
Phone: (848) 445-4056
Email: mailto:robin.leichenko@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: economic geography, climate & society, urban & regional vulnerability and resilience, equity & environmental justice, globalization
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vita

Read more ...

Bonnie McCay
(Ph.D, Columbia University)
Phone: (848) 932-9153x314
Email: mailto:mccay@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: common property and social theory, fisheries, conservation, North Atlantic
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

Pam McElwee
(Ph.D. Yale University)
Phone: (848) 932-9209
Email: mailto:pamela.mcelwee@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, climate vulnerability, conservation, forests, gender, environmental justice, environmental conflict & security, Asia, Vietnam
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

Kathe Newman
(Ph.D., Graduate School and University Center, City University of New York)
Phone: (848) 932-3822 x556
Email: mailto:knewman@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban politics, gentrification, affordable housing, predatory lending, power, race, class, and gender
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

Karen M. O'Neill
(Ph.D., UCLA)
Phone: (848) 932-9208
Email: mailto:koneill@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: governance, water and land resources, policy history, flood control, resilience planning and policy
Graduate Faculty

curriculum vitae

Frank J. Popper
(Ph.D., Harvard)
Phone: (848) 932-4009 x689
Email: mailto:fpopper@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: land use and environmental policy, natural resources management, American regional development
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

Kevon Rhiney
Assistant Professor
(Ph.D., University of the West Indies)
Phone: (848) 445-4375
Email: mailto:kevon.rhiney@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: global environmental change, social and environmental justice, food security, Small Island Developing States (SIDS)
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vita

Read more ...

David Robinson
Professor
NJ State Climatologist
(Ph.D., Columbia)
Phone: (848) 445-4741
Email: mailto:david.robinson@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: My research interests run the spatial gamut from global to local, with an underlying theme being the development of a better understanding of the climate system.
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vita

Read more ...

Mi Shi
(Ph.D., Rutgers University)
Phone: (848) 932-2755
Email: mailto:mi.shih@ejb.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: land development and property rights; city redevelopment; social protests and citizenship in China
Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vitae

Kevin St Martin
Associate Professor
(Ph.D., Clark)
Phone: (848) 445-3634
Email: mailto:kstmarti@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: economic geography, diverse economies, political ecology, community and commons, critical cartographies, GIS
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty

Curriculum Vita

Read more ...

Lyna Wiggins
(Ph.D., UC Berkeley)
Phone: (848) 932-3133 x568
Email: mailto:lyna@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: GIS, planning methods, computer applications in planning
Graduate Faculty

Contact Us

Department of Geography-Rutgers University
Lucy Stone Hall
54 Joyce Kilmer Avenue
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8045
Voice  848.445.4103 or 848.445.4107
Fax  732.445.0006
Email: Cleo.Bartos@rutgers.edu