Faculty are divided into two categories: Core and Graduate Faculty. Core faculty are central to the department. They teach and advise both undergraduate and graduate students. Graduate faculty may be based out of another department at Rutgers. They advise graduate students only. Graduate faculty includes the core faculty.

Core Faculty  Graduate Faculty

Daniel Barone

Information
Associate Research Professor
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Marine and Coastal Sciences Building
daniel.barone@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: coastal zone management including coastal storm vulnerability assessments, FEMA floodplain studies, sediment transport studies, beneficial use of dredged material assessments, and shore protection evaluations

James DeFilippis

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-5475 x734
jdefilip@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: community development, housing policy, immigration, labor

Priscilla Ferreira

Information
Assistant Professor
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall Room B-236 | (848) 445-4376
priscilla.pferreira@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Afro-Latinx Geographies, Black solidarity economies, urban geography, Afro-Latina feminisms, and decolonial methodologies and pedagogical praxis.

Nate Gabriel

Information
Assistant Teaching Professor
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall Room B-246 | 848-445-4362
nategab@geography.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, urban space, the public sphere, automation, diverse economies, sustainability, parks and green space

D. Asher Ghertner

Information
Associate Professor & Graduate Director
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall Room B-238 | (848) 445-4128
a.ghertner@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography, development and displacement, political ecology, aesthetic politics, ethnography, postcolonialism, India

Wolfram Hoefer

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-9313
whoefer@sebs.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: cultural interpretation of brownfields, the role of public spaces in social relations

Melanie Hughes McDermott

Information
Graduate Faculty
| 609-771-2836
mcdermom@tcnj.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, community-based resource management,
urban forestry, Southeast Asia, US

David Hughes

Information
Graduate Faculty
| 848-932-9299
dahughes@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, conservation, colonialism, climate justice,
Southern Africa, Trinidad, race and nature

Richard G. Lathrop Jr.

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-1580
lathrop@crssa.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: monitoring and modeling terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, landscape dynamics using remote sensing, geographic information systems

Robin Leichenko (on leave Fall 2022)

Information
PROFESSOR
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall, B-265 | (848) 445-4056
rleichen@geography.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: economic geography and human dimensions of global environmental change.

Andrea Marston (on leave AY2023)

Information
ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall, B-255 | (848) 445-2445
andrea.marston@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: environmental politics, postcolonial geographies, resource extraction, Science and Technology Studies, feminist geographies, Latin America

Pam McElwee

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-9209
pamela.mcelwee@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, climate vulnerability, conservation, forests, gender, environmental justice, environmental conflict & security, Asia, Vietnam

Kathe Newman

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-3822 x556
knewman@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban politics, gentrification, affordable housing, predatory lending, power, race, class, and gender

Karen M. O'Neill

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-9208
koneill@aesop.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: governance, water and land resources, policy history, flood control, resilience planning and policy

Will Payne

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-2370
will.b.payne@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography, spatial data science, critical and feminist GIS
food studies, gentrification studies

Edward Ramsamy

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 445-8072
ramsamy@rci.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: development, social theory, race, culture and identity, Southern Africa

Åsa Rennermalm

Information
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Program Director
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall, B214 | (848) 445-4731
asa.rennermalm@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: hydrology and glaciology of the Arctic region, and how contemporary climate change is transforming the Greenland ice sheet

Kevon Rhiney

Information
Associate Professor
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall, B-259 | (848) 445-4375
kevon.rhiney@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: global change, rural agrarian livelihoods, biopolitics, political ecology, environmental justice, postcolonial thought, Caribbean region

Trinidad Rico

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-1301
Trinidad.rico@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: heritage preservation, ethnography, expertise, Arabian Peninsula, Southeast Asia.

David Robinson

Information
Distinguished Professor
NJ State Climatologist
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall Room B-230 | (848) 445-4741
david.robinson@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: My research interests run the spatial gamut from global to local, with an underlying theme being the development of a better understanding of the climate system.

Laura C. Schneider

Information
Professor
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall Room B-234 | (848) 445-0071
laura.schneider@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: land systems science, tropical ecosystems, remote sensing, Latin America

Ethan Schoolman

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-9203
ethan.schoolman@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: environmental and social dimensions of local, regional and alternative food systems

Mi Shih

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-2755
mi.shih@ejb.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: land development and property rights, displacement, urban geography, city redevelopment, social protests and citizenship in China

Genese Sodikoff

Information
Graduate Faculty
| 973-353-5331
sodikoff@newark.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: One Health; multispecies ethnography; extinction; political ecology; conservation and development; Madagascar; Africa

Kevin St Martin

Information
Professor & Department Chair
Core Faculty, Graduate Faculty
Lucy Stone Hall Room B-232 | (848) 445-3634
kevin.st.martin@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: economic geography, diverse economies, political ecology, community and commons, critical cartographies, GIS

David Tulloch

Information
Graduate Faculty
| (848) 932-1581
tulloch@crssa.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: geo-spatial technologies, environmental and land use planning
Results 1 - 26 of 26