Graduate Students

2018 grad student cohort

Rutgers Geography’s 2018 cohort of new Master’s and PhD students

Janet Adomako
Advisor: H. Hausermann
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: janet.adomako@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Land cover/land use change, gender, livelihoods and urban geography
Elizabeth Alexander
Advisor: K. Rhiney/R. Schroeder
Degree: M.A.
Email: zoe.alexander@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Political ecology, environment and society
Sangeeta Banerji
Advisor: Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sangeeta.banerji@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography, urban riverfronts, slums, informal sector and planning
Samantha Bowden
Advisor: Robert Lake and Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sam.bowden@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Political economy and urban geographies of cities in the American South; decolonial politics; and social movements
Christopher Butrico
Advisor: R. Lathrop
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: chris.butrico@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: environmental management, coastal resilience
Thomas Crowley
Advisor: A. Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: trc90@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Urban geography, India, Political Ecology
David Eisenhauer
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: david.eisenhauer@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: climate change, governance, adaptive capacity
David Ferring
Advisor: Heidi Hausermann
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: david.ferring@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, environmental governance, social theory, mixed methods, land-use change, health geography
María Alexandra García
Advisor: James DeFilippis
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: ma.garcia@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political Economy, US-Latin America-relations, transnational migration, cultural geography
Stuti Govil
Advisor: A. Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: stutigovil@gmail.com
Research Interests: urban geography, cities, homeless, social theory
Wei-Chieh Hung
Advisor: Asher Ghertner and Robert Lake
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: weichieh.hung@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography, genrtrification, housing
Jenny Isaacs
Advisor: Rick Schroeder
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: jenny.isaacs@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: birds, conservation, community engagement, biodiversity, social science aspects of conservation, mapping stewardship along migratory route, biocultural diversity

Research Page

Sadaf Javed
Advisor: H. Hauserman
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sadaf.javed@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Climate Change, science and technology studies, political ecology
Yan Jin
Advisor: P. McElwee
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: yan.jin@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: conservation and community development, political economy
Sasha Leidman
Advisor: Åsa Rennermalm
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sasha.leidman@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: polar hydrology, glaciology, sediment transport, remote sensing
Arianna Lindberg
Advisor: K. St. Martin
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: a.lindberg@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban and suburban agriculture
Ana M. Mahecha-Groot
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: ana.mahecha@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: vulnerability, climate change, human-environment, Caribbean
Hudson McFann
Advisor: Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: hudson.mcfann@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political geography, discard studies, aesthetics, politics of memory, archival theory, everyday life, discourse analysis, Cambodian diaspora

Research Page

Justin Mullikin
Advisor: Rick Schroeder
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: justin.mullikin@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Political ecology, land use/tenure, environmental movements, mixed methods, Central/East Africa
Rohi Muthyala
Advisor: Åsa Rennermalm
Degree: M.A./Ph.D.
Email: rohi.muthyala@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: arctic hydrology, glaciology, hydrological modeling, surface hydrology
Priti Narayan
Advisor: Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: priti.narayan@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Urban geography, India, poverty, bureaucracy
Khai Hoan Nguyen
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: knn15@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: hazards, Katrina, Vietnamese community in New Orleans
Andrew Op't Hof
Advisor: David Tulloch
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: andrew.opthof@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography, cultural landscape, urban parks, open space and gentrification, queer and lgbt geographies
Ariel Otruba
Advisor: Richard Schroeder
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: ariel.otruba@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: feminist critical geopolitics, critical border studies, postcolonial development, violent geographies and geographies of violence, conflict resolution and peace studies, Eastern Europe and Eurasia

Research Page

Erin Royals
Advisor: Kathe Newman
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: erin.royals@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban development
Sean Tanner
Advisor: Kevin St Martin
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: stanner@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: rethinking economic development in Guatemala; asset-based community development; participatory action research, expertise and knowledge, theories of land reform, Latin American geographies
Hoang Mai Thach
Advisor: Pam McElwee
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: hmt46@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Neoliberalism and Conservation, Cultural Geography and Development, Environmental Anthropology and Climate Change
Sean Thatcher
Advisor: R. Lathrop
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sean.thatcher1990@gmail.com
Research Interests: physical geography, remote sensing
Sadia Baba Tijjani
Advisor: Ming Xu
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sadia.baba@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Climate change modelling and simulation with special in interest in effect of deforestation on carbon sequestration in Yankari Game Reserve, Nigeria
Jonah Walters
Advisor: Kevin St. Martin
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: jonah.walters@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: participatory research
Jing Xiao
Advisor: Å. Rennermalm
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: xiaojingcues@pku.edu.cn
Research Interests: physical geography, glaciers
Tyler Young
Advisor: R. Schroeder, P. McElwee
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: tyler.young46@gmail.com
Research Interests: political ecology, governance, land-use and settlement patterns in southeastern Senegal