Graduate Students

2019 grad cohort

Rutgers Geography’s 2019 cohort of new Master’s and PhD students

Janet A. Adomako
Advisor: Heidi Hausermann
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: janet.adomako@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, gender, livelihoods, development, ethnography, Ghana

Read more ...

Portrait (head shot photo)
Samantha L. Bowden
Advisor: Robert W. Lake
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-243
Email: sam.bowden@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: social movements, public space/memory, decolonial politics, cultural landscapes, political economy of difference

Read more ...

Christopher Butrico
Advisor: Richard G. Lathrop
Degree: M.S.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-249
Email: chris.butrico@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: geospatial science, coastal resilience

Read more ...

David Eisenhauer
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: david.eisenhauer@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: climate change, governance, adaptive capacity
David Ferring
Advisor: Heidi Hausermann
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: david.ferring@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, environmental governance, social theory, mixed methods, land-use change, health geography

Read more ...

María Alexandra García
Advisor: James DeFilippis
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: ma.garcia@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political economy, US–Latin America relations, transnational migration, cultural geography
Stuti Govil
Advisor: D. Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: stutigovil@gmail.com
Research Interests: urban geography, cities, homelessness, social theory, media urbanism
Jenny Isaacs
Advisor: Richard Schroeder
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: jenny.isaacs@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: birds, conservation, community engagement, biodiversity, social science aspects of conservation, mapping stewardship along migratory route, biocultural diversity

Read more ...

Sadaf Javed
Advisor: D. Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sadaf.javed@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: climate change, science and technology studies, political ecology
Yan Jin
Advisor: Pam McElwee
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: yan.jin@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: conservation and community development, political economy
Portrait (head shot photo)
Liana Katz
Advisor: Robert Lake
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: liana.katz@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: critical university studies, circulation of experts and expertise, militarization of space, racial capitalism, decolonial praxis
Portrait (head shot photo)
Laura F. Landau
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: B-243
Email: laura.landau@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: social infrastructure, community organizing, emergency management, public space, civic stewardship, coastal resilience

Read more ...

Portrait (head shot photo)
Sasha Leidman
Advisor: Åsa Rennermalm
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-257
Email: sasha.leidman@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: glaciology, polar sciences, hydrology, geomorphology, remote sensing

Read more ...

Alexander M. Liebman
Advisor: Kevon Rhiney
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: alex.liebman@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, data science, agrarian studies, race, financialization of land

Read more ...

Portrait (head shot photo)
Ana Mahecha
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: ana.mahecha@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: agroecology, solidarity economies, climate change, challenges of change and transformation, local food systems

Read more ...

Portrait (head shot photo)
Hudson McFann
Advisor: D. Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-119B
Email: hudson.mcfann@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: historical geography, the politics of humanitarianism, urban studies, archives and memory, oral history, aesthetics, discard studies, Cambodia

Read more ...

Portrait (head shot photo)
Justin D. Mullikin
Advisor: Heidi Hausermann and Kevon Rhiney
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-243
Email: justin.mullikin@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Central/East Africa, Rwanda, human-environment relations, agricultural land-use/cover change, development policy, assemblage geographies, feminist political ecology, mixed methods

Read more ...

Portrait (head shot photo)
Rohi Muthyala
Advisor: Åsa Rennermalm
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-272
Email: rohi.muthyala@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: arctic hydrology, glaciology, hydrological modeling, surface hydrology

Read more ...

Khai Hoan Nguyen
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: knn15@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: hazards, Katrina, Vietnamese community in New Orleans
Andrew Op't Hof
Advisor: David Tulloch
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: andrew.opthof@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography, cultural landscape, urban parks, open space and gentrification, queer and lgbt geographies
Portrait (head shot photo)
Erin Royals
Advisor: Kathe Newman
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-253
Email: erin.royals@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: race, urban governance, racial spatialization, business improvement districts, special taxing districts, black geographies, urban geography, Kansas City, nightlife, urban security

Read more ...

Portrait (head shot photo)
Natalie G. Teale
Advisor: David Robinson
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-272
Email: natalie.teale@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: climatology, hydroclimatology, precipitation patterns, climate change, applied climatology

Read more ...

Hoang Mai Thach
Advisor: Pam McElwee
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: hmt46@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: neoliberalism and conservation, cultural geography and development, environmental anthropology and climate change
Sean Thatcher
Advisor: Richard G. Lathrop
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sean.thatcher1990@gmail.com
Research Interests: physical geography, remote sensing
Portrait (head shot photo)
Sadia Baba Tijjani
Advisor: Ming Xu
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Walton Center, Room 137
Email: sadia.baba@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: process-based models, remote sensing, GIS, R and Python programming, machine learning, big data analytics

Read more ...

Sahithya Venkatusan
Advisor: Kevin St. Martin
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: sv574@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Political Ecology, coastal economy, agrarian change, aquaculture
Portrait (head shot photo)
Tashanna J. Walker
Advisor: Kevon Rhiney
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-245
Email: tjw121@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban militarization, urban redevelopment, political economy, social justice, ethnography

Read more ...

Portrait (head shot photo)
Jonah Walters
Advisor: Kevin St. Martin
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-235
Email: jonah.walters@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: socialism, development, workers cooperatives, economic history, Nicaragua

Read more ...

Jing Xiao
Advisor: Åsa Rennermalm
Degree: Ph.D.
Office: Lucy Stone Hall, Room B-272
Email: j.xiao@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: glaciology, climatology

Read more ...

Tyler Young
Advisor: Kevin St. Martin
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: tyler.young46@gmail.com
Research Interests: political ecology, governance, land-use and settlement patterns in southeastern Senegal