SAS Banner
SAS Mobile Banner

Graduate Students

2017 cohort

Janet Adomako
Advisor: Heidi Hauserman
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:janet.adomako@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Land cover/land use change, gender, livelihoods and urban geography
Elizabeth Alexander
Advisor: K. Rhiney/R. Schroeder
Degree: M.A.
Research Interests: Political ecology, environment and society
Ida Ansharyani
Advisor: Pam McElwee
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:ida.ansharyani@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Climate change adaptation, traditional ecological knowledge, sustainable livelihood, participatory action research, conservation

Research Page

Jessica August
Advisor: D. Robinson
Degree: M.S.
Research Interests: Physical geography
Sangeeta Banerji
Advisor: Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:sangeeta.banerji@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography, slums, informal sector, planning, urban river fronts
Courtney Berne
Advisor: R. Schroeder
Degree: M.A.
Research Interests: Feminist geography, postcolonial studies
Samantha Bowden
Advisor: Robert Lake and Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:sam.bowden@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Political economy and urban geographies of cities in the American South; decolonial politics; and social movements
Michael Brady
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:michael.brady@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Arctic Alaska, climate change, water resources management, urbanization, adaptation issues, climate change and society resilience theory, GIS

Research Page

Gregory Brodie
Advisor: K. Newman
Degree: M.A.
Research Interests: Urban geography, critical theory
Thomas Crowley
Advisor: A. Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Research Interests: Urban geography, India, Political Ecology
Katherine (Tabby) Fenn
Advisor: Laura Schneider
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:tfenn@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: conservation, protected areas, New Jersey, remote sensing

Research Page

David Ferring
Advisor: Heidi Hausermann
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:david.ferring@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology, environmental governance, social theory, mixed methods, land-use change, health geography
María Alexandra García
Advisor: James DeFilippis
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:ma.garcia@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political Economy, US-Latin America-relations, transnational migration, cultural geography
Ben Gerlofs
Advisor: Robert Lake/Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:ben.gerlofs@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography and political economy, cultural geography, right to the city, North American cities

Research Page

Ana M. Mahecha Groot
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:ana.mahecha@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: vulnerability, climate change, human-environment, Caribbean
Frank Halprin
Advisor: Frank Popper
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:frank.halprin@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: biodiversity conservation, political ecology, discourse analysis
Ali Horton
Advisor: Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:ali.horton@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban areas of the Global South, poverty eradication, slum upgrading
Wei-Chieh Hung
Advisor: Asher Ghertner and Robert Lake
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:weichieh.hung@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: urban geography, genrtrification, housing
Jenny Isaacs
Advisor: Rick Schroeder
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:jenny.isaacs@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: birds, conservation, community engagement, biodiversity, social science aspects of conservation, mapping stewardship along migratory route, biocultural diversity

Research Page

Sadaf Javed
Advisor: H. Hauserman
Degree: Ph.D.
Research Interests: Climate Change, science and technology studies, political ecology
Yan Jin
Advisor: P. McElwee
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:Yan.Jin@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Conservation and community development. Political economy
Divya Karnad
Advisor: Bonnie McCay/Kevin St. Martin
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:divya.karnad@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: marine fisheries, common property, wildlife conservation, coupled human-natural systems
Sasha Leidman
Advisor: Åsa Rennermalm
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:sasha.leidman@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Polar Hydrology/ Glaciology/ Sediment Transport/ Remote Sensing
Hudson McFann
Advisor: Asher Ghertner
Degree: Ph.D.
Research Interests: political geography, discard studies, aesthetics, politics of memory, archival theory, everyday life, discourse analysis, Cambodian diaspora

Research Page

Justin Mullikin
Advisor: Rick Schroeder
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:justin.mullikin@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Political ecology, land use/tenure, environmental movements, mixed methods, Central/East Africa
Khai Hoan Nguyen
Advisor: Robin Leichenko
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:knn15@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: hazards, Katrina, Vietnamese community in New Orleans
Ariel Otruba
Advisor: Richard Schroeder
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:ariel.otruba@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: feminist critical geopolitics, critical border studies, postcolonial development, violent geographies and geographies of violence, conflict resolution and peace studies, Eastern Europe and Eurasia

Research Page

Diya Paul
Advisor: Laura Schneider and Heidi Hausermann
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:diya.paul@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: political ecology of wildlife conservation, biogeography and social theory
Alana Rader
Advisor: L. Schneider
Degree: Ph.D.
Research Interests: Land change science, resilience
Sean Tanner
Advisor: Kevin St Martin
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:stanner@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: rethinking economic development in Guatemala; asset-based community development; participatory action research, expertise and knowledge, theories of land reform, Latin American geographies
Hoang Mai Thach
Advisor: Pam McElwee
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:hmt46@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Neoliberalism and Conservation, Cultural Geography and Development, Environmental Anthropology and Climate Change
Sadia Baba Tijjani
Advisor: Ming Xu
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:sadia.baba@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Climate change modelling and simulation with special in interest in effect of deforestation on carbon sequestration in Yankari Game Reserve, Nigeria
Gabriella Ulloa
Advisor: Laura Schneider
Degree: M.S.
Email: mailto:gabriela.ulloa@rutgers.edu
Research Interests: Political Ecology, Environmental Justice, Environmental Impact Assessment
Tashanna Walker
Advisor: K. Rhiney
Degree: Ph.D.
Research Interests: Climate change, vulnerability in Jamaica
Jennifer Whytlaw-Rovito
Advisor: Michael Greenberg
Degree: Ph.D.
Email: mailto:jrovito@ejb.rutgers.edu
Research Interests: resilience, disasters, risk communication,vulnerable populations, climate change, NJ

Contact Us

Department of Geography-Rutgers University
Lucy Stone Hall
54 Joyce Kilmer Avenue
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8045
Voice  848.445.4103 or 848.445.4107
Fax  732.445.0006
Email: Cleo.Bartos@rutgers.edu